
The California Department of Real Estate is the  

agency within California state government that 

issues real estate broker and salesperson licenses 

and public reports to subdividers of California real 

property. The Department also has the authority to 

revoke or suspend a license for violations of the Real 

Estate Law (Section 10000 et seq., of the Business 

and Professions Code). In addition, the Department 

administers a victim’s fund, known as the Real Estate 

Recovery Account.

The Recovery Account became operative on July 1, 

1964 and is funded from a portion of the fees paid by 

licensees. It enables a person who has been defrauded 

or had trust funds converted by a real estate licensee in 

a transaction requiring that license, and who satisfies 

specified requirements (California Business and 

Professions Code Section 10471 et seq.) to recover at 

least some of his or her actual loss when the licensee 

has insufficient personal assets to pay for that loss.

Since its inception in 1964, the number of applications 

filed and paid from the Recovery Account has 

fluctuated. A total of approximately 3,927 applications 

have been filed between July 1964 and June 2003 and 

over 54% of all claims filed have been paid, in full or 

in part. The annual aggregate amount of claims paid 

has increased from $215,000 at the end of fiscal year 

1977-78 to a high of $2,277,661 at the end of fiscal 

year 1996-97. Since 1964, the Department has paid 

approximately $34,160,000 to members of the public 

from the Recovery Account.

In general, the requirements for payment from 

the Recovery Account include obtaining a final civil 

judgment or arbitration award, or a criminal restitution 

order against the licensee. The judgment, award or 

order must be based on intentional fraud or conversion 

of trust funds in connection with a transaction 

requiring a real estate license. The victim must make 

a reasonable search for the licensee’s assets, and, if 

any, a reasonable effort to collect on the judgment, 

arbitration award or restitution order from those assets 

to satisfy the judgment. In addition, the victim must 

name as a defendant and make a reasonable effort to 

collect from all other parties involved in the transaction 

that may be liable to and able to pay the victim.

An application for payment must be submitted to 

the Department within one year after the judgment, 

award or order becomes final. A copy of the application 

and required notice must be served on the judgment 

debtor/licensee, who is given an opportunity to respond 

to the allegations in the application and object to 

payment of the claim.

Once filed, the application is reviewed to determine if 

all required information has been submitted so that 

a decision can be made whether or not to pay. That 

review normally involves a series of letters between 

the Department and the applicant, resolving questions 

and obtaining necessary supporting documentation. 

The applicant will be notified in writing of the initial 

deficiencies in the application within 15 days of its 

receipt by the Department.

Once the application becomes complete, the 

Department must issue a decision granting or denying 

payment within 90 days. If the application is granted, 

the applicant will be paid an amount for his or her 

actual and direct loss in a transaction, up to a statutory 

maximum of $20,000 per transaction, with a possible 

total aggregate maximum of $100,000 per licensee.

If an application is denied, the applicant has the right 

to refile the claim in court. When there is a decision 

to pay, the judgment debtor/licensee has the right to 

file a writ of mandamus to challenge the Department 

of Real Estate’s decision to pay (payment results in 

the automatic suspension of his or her real estate 

license until the amount paid is repaid in full plus 

10% interest).

In cases where the aggregate amount of multiple claims 

against a licensee exceeds the $100,000 licensee limit, 

the Department must file an action in court to prorate 

payment among all eligible claimants. Whenever 

a Recovery Account application matter ends up in 

court (a refiled application, a writ or a proration), the 

Department is represented by the California Attorney 

General’s office to defend the decision to deny or pay 

the claim or to properly distribute the funds among 

multiple applicants.

HOW TO OBTAIN AN APPLICATION FOR PAYMENT

Appl i cat ions  and forms perta in ing to  the 

Recovery Account are available on the DRE 

Web site at www.dre.ca.gov and may also be  

obtained by writing to:

	 Department of Real Estate

	 Real Estate Recovery Account

	 P.O. Box 187007

	 Sacramento, CA 95818

REAL ESTATE RECOVERY ACCOUNT



A TRUE STORY:  
BUYERS DUPED BY DISHONESTY 

RECEIVE MONETARY RELIEF
collapse of one of the ceilings. Because the plumbing, 

heating and electrical systems had not been installed 

according to the building codes, the buyers received 

“red tag” notices from the utility companies preventing 

them from operating the heaters. Finally, the buyers 

were told by building inspectors that the security bars 

could not remain on the windows without a separate 

release bar for each window.

The property was inspected by several contractors who 

verified the unlivable condition of the property. The 

contractors’ estimates were all in excess of $40,000 to 

repair the property. The buyers executed a Notice of 

Rescission requesting the purchase of the property be 

rescinded. After failing to receive any satisfaction, the 

buyers filed a lawsuit against the sellers, the Broker 

and the salesperson in superior court alleging fraud, 

negligence and breach of fiduciary duty. The buyers 

settled with the broker. Judgments were entered 

against the sellers and the salesperson in the amount 

of $50,000. The court found that the defendants 

defrauded the buyers by intentionally misrepresenting 

the condition of the property, concealing known defects, 

and failing to provide a disclosure statement.

The buyers tried unsuccessfully to enforce their 

judgment against the sellers and the salesperson. They 

then filed an application for payment from the Recovery 

Account. Payment of the application was granted in the 

amount of $20,000, the statutory maximum allowable 

for one transaction. The salesperson’s real estate 

license was indef﻿initely suspended as a result of the 

payment from the Recovery Account. The suspension 

of the salesperson’s real estate license cannot be 

lifted until the Recovery Account is reimbursed the 

amount paid in full plus 10% interest. In addition, the 

salesperson’s real estate license has been revoked as 

a result of a disciplinary enforcement action filed by 

the Department.  

Following is an example of one of the many ways one 

can be victimized by a dishonest licensee. This is a true 

story taken from an application filed with the Recovery 

Account that resulted in payment to the victims.

The owners of property located in Southern California 

entered into an exclusive listing agreement with a 

broker. The property was advertised as a large five 

bedroom three bath home with a garage that had been 

converted to guest quarters. The advertisement stated 

that the property was in good condition and excellent 

for a large family.

When the buyers, who were looking for a property to 

accommodate their family of five children, saw the 

advertisement, they contacted the broker. The broker 

introduced the buyers to a real estate salesperson . 

Upon inspecting the property, the buyers were assured 

by the salesperson that the roof was new and had no 

leaks, that all additions had been built to code and 

with the proper permits, that the heating, plumbing 

and electrical systems were in good working condition, 

and that only one master release bar was needed to 

operate security bars on all the windows. Based upon 

these representations, the buyers purchased the 

property for $155,000.

Throughout negotiations, the buyers had requested 

a copy of what is known as the transfer disclosure 

statement from the salesperson. The buyers were not 

provided with a copy until one day after the close of 

escrow. Upon reviewing the disclosure statement, the 

buyers discovered that the roof was actually ten years 

old, that the garage conversion had been done without 

the proper permits, and that the third bathroom was 

not properly constructed. After moving into the house, 

the buyers further discovered that the roof had been 

leaking to such an extent that it had caused severe 

damage to the interior of the property including the 
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